The three longest serving elected officials in Bexar county are all filing for another term today.


  Bexar County Commissioner Paul Elizondo, 78, will file for a ninth four year term on Bexar County Commissioners Court.  The building that the Commissioners Court meets in is named the Paul Elizondo Tower in his honor.


  Republican Lamar Smith, who served on Commissioners Court alongside Elizondo in the 1980s, will file for a fourteenth term in Congress.  Smith, who turns 66 next week, also served one term in the Legislature in the early 1980s.  Smith has seen his 21st District change radically over the past 26 years, from it's base in Alamo Heights and Northeast San Antonio, Smith's district has, at times, stretched into far west Texas, and stretched into the Hill Country.  Today Smith's district includes much of Comal and Hays Counties and extends into Travis County.  But Smith has continued to win re-election, generally without significant opposition and often with 60% of the vote or more.


  The granddaddy of them all, literally, is Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff, 73, who will file for re-election to a fourth full term as County Judge.  Wolff was appointed to the post in 2001 after Cyndi Krier resigned to take a seat on the U.T. System Board of Regents. 


  But Wolff's political career stretches back more than forty years.  He was elected to the Texas House in 1970.   He then moved to the Texas Senate, and after a brief pause to build his business, Sun Harvest Farms, Wolff was elected to the San Antonio City Council in 1987, and then was elected Mayor in 1991.  Wolff has written several books and his love of baseball led city officials to name its minor league facility Nelson Wolff Stadium.