SAN ANTONIO (WOAI) In his 18th season as the Spurs head coach, Gregg Popovich is the longest tenured coach with the same team among the 122 NBA, NFL, NHL and MLB franchises.

Popovich has led the Spurs to four NBA Championships (1999, 2003, 2005 and 2007.) He and Eric Spoelstra are the only two active coaches with multiple NBA titles. In addition, he is one of five coaches in history with four-or-more NBA Championships (along with Red Auerbach, Phil Jackson, John Kundla and Pat Riley.)

Popovich was named named NBA Coach of the Year in 2003, 2012 and 2014, joining Don Nelson and Pat Riley as the only coaches to win the award three times.

Popovich has also been named the NBA Coach of the Month 14 times (4/99, 3/01, 3/02, 1/03, 3/03, 12/03, 12/05, 3/06, 3/07, 11/07, 11/10, 12/10, 2/12, 3/12), the most ever in the league's history.